Swimmer of the year Award


The Swimmer of the Year shall hold the Trophy for a period of one year subject to the Association’s conditions. The swimmer(s) will receive a personal memento recording the award.

The following are the criteria to be used to select the Warwickshire Swimmer of the Year:

1. The award is to reflect the achievement of an individual competing in any discipline at the highest possible level in open competition that would add distinction and recognition to the name of the nominee, their club and the Association. 

2. The award shall be made to a nominee who was a member of a club affiliated to the Association from the beginning of the year under review and has not represented another county in the same year. Where possible the nominee would be expected, if  called upon, to be available for Association representative competition and/or participation in the Association’s Annual Individual Championships. ("Where possible" refers to an international or other athlete whose training or other commitments sometimes prevents them competing for the Association.) 

3. In the event that the achievements of more than one nomination result in difficulty in obtaining an outright nominee, then the “Swimmer of the Year Points Table” where relevant is to be used to decide who the nominee should be. 

4. Any Officer, Executive Member, or club shall be eligible to make a nomination. The name, together with the details supporting the nomination, must be forwarded to the Swimming Secretary by 31st October for the swimming year ended 30th September. 

5. The Swimming Technical Committee shall appoint a sub-committee to consider any nominations submitted to, or made by them, using the laid down criteria for the selection. They shall make the nomination known to the Executive, for their approval, at its next meeting. 

6. If in the opinion of the Executive there is no outstanding nominee in a year the award shall not be made for that year. 

7. When, exceptionally, 2 or more nominees have an equally strong claim the Executive may decide to make the award jointly. 


Swimmer of the year

(all disciplines from 2006)

1963 Robert Lord                 1964 Robert Lord               1965 Robert Lord                1966 Janice Lawson               1967 Sheena Grant              

1971 Martin Edwards           1972 Martin Edwards         1973 Martin Edwards          1974 Dean Smith                    1975 David Parker

1976 Debbie Rudd               1977 Debbie Rudd             1978 Kim Wilkinson            1979 Gareth Sykes                  1980 Maxine Charles

1981 Gareth Sykes              1982 Paul Easter                1983 Paul Howe                 1984 Joanne Seymour             1985 Not presented

1986 Nicola Kennedy           1987 Ruth Knight               1988 Joanna Coull              1989 David Parker                   1990 Caroline Piggot

1991 Blayne Hughes           1992 Sukie Brownsdon       1993 Marie Hardiman         1994 Marie Hardiman              1995 Adam Ruckwood

1996 Jo Deakins                  1997 Adam Ruckwood       1998 Adam Whitehead & Georgina Lee                              1999 Not presented

2000 Georgina Lee              2001 Georgina Lee             2002 Adam Whitehead       2003 Grace Callaghan             2004 Georgina Lee

2005 Not presented             2006 Judy Wilson (M)         2007 Elizabeth Smith (Sy)  2008 Eleanor Simmonds (P)    2009 Not presented

2010 Not presented             2011 Tully Kearney (P)       2012 Yvette Baker (Sy)      2013 Paul Bates                       2014 Jake Vincent (WP)

Note: (M) denotes Masters swimmer, (P) Para swimmer, (Sy) Synchro swimmer and (WP) Water Polo swimmer, all others are speed swimmers